11 Comments
May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

Wow, that's terrible. I'm an aspiring author and this type of nonsense draws me toward wanting to self-publish. I'm not saying that self-publishing is a fairy wonderland with no issues, but at least if I'M doing the firing, you better believe it will be for a good reason (since I'm an honest employer and won't lie to myself)! Of course, I would then do an honest assessment of WHY I got fired, so that when I re-hire myself, I'll be an even better worker! LOL. Sometimes we need to be fired to grow, but NOT because of mis-management and boldfaced lies. Shame on them!!

Expand full comment
author

I think agencies (and publishers) pulling this kind of thing is really driving a lot of talent away, for sure! And the tricky thing here is that the agent-author relationship isn't supposed to be employer-employee. It's a partnership. The agent only makes money if the author does. Sometimes that partnership needs to end (and it might be either party who calls it off) but this kind of business model of throwing spaghetti at the wall to see what sticks just doesn't strike me as a good one in the long term.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023·edited May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

I ABSOLUTELY agree with everything you stated!! In my short time learning about the writing industry (I've only been in this for about a year), there are many bad behaviours at play. When an agency or publisher expects loyalty and honesty from their writers but won't provide the same, that's a huge red flag that I'm not willing to ignore.

Also, I'm deeply concerned about the differences in treatment of writers of color within the industry. As you stated, a writer and agent/publisher should have a PARTNERSHIP (vs. an employer-employee relationship). Otherwise, they both lose. Unfortunately, this concept is elusive for many writers of color and that's extremely disheartening.

As I write my first novel, I think about the various ways of publishing my work. If someone were to ask me TODAY how I would publish my novel, I would definitely lean towards self-publishing. For some, this might seem like a more challenging choice. For me, it would seem a better avenue in keeping my self-respect and avoiding many abuses seemingly inherent in this industry. I need both to continue my love affair with writing! Basically, I'd rather skip the agency/agent and traditional/hybrid publishing drama as much as possible.

Again, I truly agree with you that agencies and publishers are missing out on some great talent (from both minority AND non-minority writers)! It's a shame they can't foresee the impending tornado of writer uprisings (but this is in part due to writers "going along to get along" in order to present their artistry to readers).

Writers need to realize their worth and demand respect from the agencies and publishers they work with (or give it to themselves)!

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

What’s worse is that stories and the different and potentially great ways they can be told are going to be lost instead of being heard.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

I can't say my like is a like for the situation; it's more for the heads-up about it. I have heard of New Leaf and looked at some of their lit agents in preparation for querying down the road. Thank you, and I'm sorry something similar happened to you and is happening to those authors too. It's incredibly upsetting. And I wish it was substandard behavior.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Rebecca - and yes, I wish that too. I'm really grateful to the authors who are talking about it publicly because that kind of transparency is the only thing that's going to make changes in the long run.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

First; it’s not a rant if it’s important. This definitely needs to be noticed. Did they say why they were letting agents and authors go? In todays atmosphere of cancel culture, everyone is afraid to speak or act. Independently selling is turning out the most problematic but ultimately the most profitable way to go for artists.

Expand full comment
author

The agency hasn't made a public statement and I'm not sure if they will - but if they do, it will absolutely only be thanks to the authors who are out there publicly calling attention to it.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

I’m a would be writer who’s only recently thought about publishing the various projects. I honestly thought the different areas such as fiction and screenplays were too saturated for any of the “big” guys to notice. But recently and artist buddy of mine and I have started our own thing. It may pan out. It may not but at least we did our best. But people who want to work with established publishers or representatives and often at the mercy of somebody’s whim.

Expand full comment
May 15, 2023Liked by Michelle Schusterman

I don’t have Twitter but checked out the links and wow the supportive comments are so heartwarming. I really needed to see that today.

Expand full comment